The Shedunnit Guide to Golden Age Detective Fiction

The Shedunnit Guide to Golden Age Detective Fiction is a pamphlet aimed at helping readers who want to broaden their mystery reading but don’t know where to start. It covers six authors:

  • Ngaio Marsh
  • Margery Allingham
  • Gladys Mitchell
  • Nicholas Blake
  • Michael Innes
  • E.C.R. Lorac

For each writer, there is a brief introduction to their life and a comprehensive flowchart that readers can use to work out which of their many books to start with or which one to try next. You can use it to find books with particular settings, mystery styles, types of detective, series elements, and more.

These writers wrote an intimidatingly large number of novels — 66 for Mitchell, over 50 for Innes, 33 for Marsh and so on — and it can be difficult to work out which title to pick up first, especially when you need to devote time or money to tracking down these books. The Guide takes the pressure off this decision and helps you navigate towards works that fit your preferences.

The Guide is an exclusive perk for the 2022 Shedunnit Pledge Drive. To get a copy, become a member now. Once your membership is active, you will receive an email with a link to download the Guide as a PDF.

There are instructions for existing members on how to claim a copy of the Guide here.